Which state offers BH Series number: You need to know

The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways introduced the Bharat (BH) Series Registration on August 26, 2021, and it became effective on September 15, 2021. Currently BH series numbers are not offered in all the states of India. Let’s find the List of States offers BH series number.  This system aims to make it easier for employees of the Central Government, State Government, Public Sector Undertakings, and Private Sector Companies with offices in four or more states to transfer their vehicles.

What is BH Series Number

When government or private sector employees move to a new location, it can be challenging to get necessary approvals from the current state, get a new registration for the vehicle in the new state, and apply for a tax refund from the previous state. The BH Series Registration simplifies this process by making one registration mark valid across the entire country.

States offers BH Series
States offers BH Series

Vehicle owners with BH Series Registration need to pay taxes every two years or in multiples of it to the state where the vehicle is located during that period. The state tax rate is 25% higher than the standard rate. This system not only benefits citizens but also reduces the workload for Regional Transport Offices (RTOs) handling such vehicle transfers, making the process smoother.

Also read: Step by step guide to renew your BH Series Tax registration. 

List of States offers BH Series number.

Andaman & Nicobar Island
Arunachal Pradesh (Govt + Private Employee)
Assam (Govt + Private Employee)
Bihar (Govt + Private Employee)
Chandigarh (Govt + Private Employee)
Delhi (Govt + Private Employee)
Goa (Govt + Private Employee)
Gujarat (Govt + Private Employee)
Himachal Pradesh (Govt + Private Employee)
Jammu and Kashmir
Karnataka   (Govt employee only)
Maharashtra (Govt + Private Employee)
Nagaland (Govt + Private Employee)
Odisha (Govt + Private Employee)
Rajasthan (Govt + Private Employee)
Sikkim (Govt + Private Employee)
Tripura (Govt + Private Employee)
UT of DNH and DD
Uttar Pradesh (Govt + Private Employee)
West Bengal (Govt + Private Employee)


BH (Bharat) Series vehicles Registration  in Karnataka and Maharashtra is as follows:

State Name  Central employee  State employee  Defence
 Karnataka 1,067 17 330
 Maharashtra 1,290 90 758


Note: The above information has been published on the Press Information Bureau Government of India website.